Frito-Lay Drivers Make Safety a Priority -- A Million Times Over

August 26, 2008

During National Truck Driver Appreciation Week Company Celebrates Over-the-Road Drivers Who Have Traveled One Million or More Accident-Free Miles

PLANO, Texas - Frito-Lay North America is recognizing nearly 90 over-the-road (OTR) drivers who this year have reached the career milestone of more than one million, two million or three million miles driven accident-free.

“Today, Frito-Lay celebrates the commitment and dedication of our ‘Million Milers,’ who make personal safety and the safety of those with whom they share the road daily a priority,” said Tom Jacob, director, operations safety, Frito-Lay North America. “These world-class professionals face potential risks on the road each and every day, making at least one million accident-free miles an amazing feat.”

On average it takes a Frito-Lay OTR driver about 10 years to reach the one million mile mark. The company now has more than 300 active “Million Milers” on the roads daily. Through the “Million Milers” program, and the company’s extensive safety efforts, Frito-Lay has seen a 64% decline in collisions over the past 10 years.

This year’s class of “Million Milers,” along with their families, was recognized earlier this year by Frito-Lay’s top executives at an annual gala at the company’s national headquarters in Plano, Texas.

Frito-Lay’s Million Milers possess high-level safety skills honed through extensive training and adherence to good driving behaviors. Frito-Lay utilizes skills maneuvering courses, advanced driving simulators and team collaborations on best practices to create a positive safety culture and to help its drivers maintain their skills.

Frito-Lay North America is the $11 billion convenient foods business unit of PepsiCo, which is headquartered in Purchase, N.Y. In addition to Frito-Lay, PepsiCo business units include Pepsi-Cola, Quaker Foods, Gatorade and Tropicana.

Frito-Lay’s 2008 Million Milers:

1 Million Milers
Michael Hall – Aberdeen, Md.
Wayne Hill – Aberdeen, Md.
Vic Files – Beloit, Wis.
Greg Grover – Beloit, Wis.
Eric Hanson – Beloit, Wis.
Bob Schulz – Beloit, Wis.
Jim Sullivan – Beloit, Wis.
Greg Arney – Canton, Ohio
Ed Blackburn – Canton, Ohio
Chris Chapman – Canton, Ohio
Kenneth Porter -- Casa Grande, Ariz.
Steve Wilden -- Casa Grande, Ariz.
Kendall Andrews – Charlotte, N.C.
Michael Blansett – Charlotte, N.C.
Jim Mullis – Charlotte, N.C.
Andy Gray – Chicago, Ill.
Jerome Steward – Cucamonga, Calif.
Bill Chewning – Dallas, Texas
Vic Anyaebunam – Frankfort, Ind.
Paul Flahaut – Frankfort, Ind.
Robin Miller – Frankfort, Ind.
Kevin Paris – Frankfort, Ind.
Randy Radcliff – Frankfort, Ind.
Stephen Waite – Frankfort, Ind.
Tyrone Bell – Fayetteville, Tenn.
Mark Webb – Fayetteville, Tenn.
James Hyman – Irving, Texas
Bruce Penry – Irving, Texas
Randy Bowman – Kern, Calif.
Tony Espinoza – Kern, Calif.
Rob McCall – Kern, Calif.
Joe McPhetridge – Kern, Calif.
Kenny Miller – Kern, Calif.
Jareth Sanchez – Kern, Calif.
David Stoner – Kern, Calif.
Joe Williams – Kern, Calif.
Ed Beargeon – Killingly, Conn.
Ronald Blain – Killingly, Conn.
James Maynard – Killingly, Conn.
Kevin Rumrill – Killingly, Conn.
Carl Tetreault – Killingly, Conn.
Garry Boccafogli – Kirkwood, N.Y.
Marty Miles – Kirkwood, N.Y.
Ronald Miner – Kirkwood, N.Y.
Jonathon Worden – Kirkwood, N.Y.
Roland Brochu – Lauzon, Quebec
Denis Caron – Lauzon, Quebec
Eric Roussy – Lauzon, Quebec
Aaron Jones – Lethbridge, Alberta
Bruce Conner – Southgate, Mich.
Rick Daniel – Modesto, Calif.
Rick Tosta – Modesto, Calif.
Michael Hargrave – Orlando, Fla.
Jeff McCarthy – Orlando, Fla.
Raymond Pender – Orlando, Fla.
Charles Kemp – Perry, Ga.
Drew Padgett – Perry, Ga.
Donnie Brown – Pulaski, Tenn.
Danny Vieregge – Pulaski, Tenn.
Jessie Cortez – Rosenberg, Texas
Lee Williams – Rosenberg, Texas
Jerry Bateman -- San Antonio, Texas
Russ Burhenn – Topeka, Kan.
Richard Ditto – Topeka, Kan.
Mike Galle – Topeka, Kan.
Mike Hoppe – Topeka, Kan.
Chris Lundry – Topeka, Kan.
Steve Patrick – Topeka, Kan.
Steve Vaughn – Topeka, Kan.
Steve Watkins – Topeka, Kan.
James Drescher – Vancouver, Wash.
Scott Carter -- West Valley, Utah
Brent Kluge -- West Valley, Utah
M. Scott Thompson -- West Valley, Utah
Bruce Guinter – Williamsport, Pa.
Craig Ferree – York, Pa.

2 Million Milers
Denny Paffel – Beloit, Wis.
Richard Eaves -- Casa Grande, Ariz.
Henry Sales -- Casa Grande, Ariz.
Jeffery Mark Billingsley – Frankfort, Ind.
Letteer Lewis – Frankfort, Ind.
Charlie Winstead – Jonesboro, Ark.
Lynn Hirsche – Lethbridge, Alberta
Lawrence McInnes – Lethbridge, Alberta
Don Jordan – Topeka, Kan.

3 Million Miler
Bob Schneider – Denver, Colo.